The Self Express

Last week the Self Express Buss was in Salt Lake City. I was playing volleyball in powder sugary sand. I never thought we’d met. But life throws you into the pathways of others for random reasons. Come night time, right before Aaron’s show Jen and I decided to walk to Sammy’s. (Sammy’s is little burger and shake joint full mustaches) In reality we ran into our good friends Weston and Geoff headed that way. We all were just going to meet up at Eye lips Eye’s show and then meet up with Aaron afterwards.  Weston and Geoff had dangles of girls with them as if nothing new. So Jen and I just walked along for the fun of it.

In front of Sammy’s we noticed some chalk on the ground. I picked up blue, and drew a response to a message in Portuguese simple leaving “Fale algo logo”. When Jen suggested I draw a temple behind the boy and girl stick figures. I did. That is when we found out the real reason for the chalk it wasn’t for the ground but rather for the bus.

Like moths to a light, Jen and I crossed the street to the bus. There it was in all it’s glory, colorful as a kaleidoscope.  Jen quickly wrote “Jen Buffy” on the bus while I was suddenly at loss for what to draw or write. And that is when we were invited on the bus. Two young men approached us and started asking about Jen Buffy and we started asking about the bus. A somewhat intoxicated man walked by and asked “Can I have your bus?” We all laughed at his blatant attempts. The mysterious bus owners responded “No, but you can draw on it.”  I then took the opportunity to bat my lady lashes and ask “Can I have your bus?” Moments latter I stood in shock with a heavy ring full of keys in my hand. Lady Lashes. Sure it was momentarily and the key ring was instantly removed from my hand but replaced by an invitation on the bus. I am pretty sure being invited on a bus by long haired travelers, is the first of a many wrong decisions in so many young girls lives but in my case I felt okay about it. I made the instant choice to step on the bus and get a tour. I was curious about the purpose of the bus and they were curious about Provo.

We saw three beds, the dream catcher, the spice rack, and ended up on the couch in a discussion about religion. I knew it would end up there. I guess that is the reasoning behind entering onto the bus. I have always found it interesting to discuss religious views with others. I guess that is one reason I spent a year and half doing it full time. Jen had too, so the conversation smoothed into religion without any bumps or jolts. I felt as though Jen were finally companions in helping the conversation flow.

We talked about life, righteous choices, after life, The Book of Mormon (the musical), The Book of Mormon (the book),  health choices, A Greater Being, CTR (Choose the Right), and the paths of life.  It was super interesting to hear their opinions and to share some of ours.

This is what they state was the purpose of the bus, this harmonious conversation and friendship conducive environment. We guess each others ages. We all were so wrong perhaps it has something to do with gender stereotypes the guys guessed us girls to be way younger and we guessed the guys to be way older. (I think  full grown beards make any guy look older though.) I learned that they were promoting transpiration to a sustainable future and exploring solutions to the environmental and social problems we face.  Most of the resources for the bus were donated and they were fueling up on used frying oil.

They invited us along to Moab and I thought for a second if only this internship wasn’t 40 hour commitment. I offered Jen to go and they would have gladly taken her. She couldn’t though.  We wished them luck and went to our show. I think I left a little piece of me on that bus because it has been on my mind for a week now. I’ll I know is they left a little PEACE (play on words) of the bus with me.

Leave a Reply

