Building a fence to shield off paradise

Right now in my life I feel as though I am building a fence to shield off paradise. I think this picture describes it better than my words. Who lives on a beach like that and builds a fence to keep that out?

I am not sure what this means, or why I feel this way. I have just been thinking about how some times in our lives we ourselves are things that we do to build the fence that keeps us way from the beach. I have built several fences lately to keep me from the beautiful white sand shore and cool blue waters. Why would I build a fence that keeps me from my dreams?

I love that the focus here is the beach while the picture of what is right in front of us is out of focus.  That is how my dreams are, the long term goals are as clear as that ocean water, while it is what is right in front of me that is out of focus.

What fences are you building?

2 thoughts on “Building a fence to shield off paradise

  1. Lindsay says:

    I think in a way we all build fences, some even build them so high that dream gets lost. I know I’ve built a lot of fences, but I’ve never really thought about it in this way before. Thanks for sharing and for giving me something to think about.

Leave a Reply

