Rally Cappin’

I am so into baseball as of lately. ( As if my true followers didn’t pick up on that…How could you not?) I have never claimed to be competitive or sports-y. (In fact it has always been the opposite.) One time I did give a training on basketball and 3pt. shots in the MTC. It was great, not because of me. It was the perfect way to tie diligence in the gospel and on the mission with parable of sorts. (And this parable was the type that 19 year old boys were bound to pay attention to.) I owe that one up to some amazing inspiration.

It started out similar to this post. I never was athletic. I have never shot a 3pt. shot. Here in the MTC we don’t have very many options when it comes to work out time. Basketball or volleyball. To put it simply I hate volleyball. There are only three things I hate in life: Terrorism, Hatred, and Volleyball. I know that doesn’t even make sense but it is true. So I resorted to playing basketball. After playing one game with the Elders I decided I would shoot on my own for a bit.  Day after day, shooting and shooting, slightly changing my footing and slowly altering my technique (or lack of). I would spend most of the time chasing the ball.  Everyday I shot though. One day from the sidelines in heavy accented English I heard, “Sister you got three points!” “What did he say?” I thought as I chased after the ball again. I figured he was talking about me and my shooting. By the time I put it together I didn’t believe it was real. I kept shooting and then I realized I had been shooting from the 3pt. line and making it for some time now.  I wasn’t sure how long I had been doing this, heck I wasn’t sure this was even possible. Everything is similar if we use diligence.  (Learning a language, progressing in the gospel, changing habits etc. They all take will power and diligence. Don’t even get me started on will power today….save that for later. <3) At this time we all were stumbling through a language so I said that as we study, practice and use the language, one day we’ll hear from the sidelines shouting “Sister you’re doing it you are speaking Portuguese!” and we’ll realize “Hey I have been doing this for some time now.”  OR we’ll be teaching and we’ll hear from the sidelines “Elders, you are teaching that lesson nicely with the perfect amount of spirit” and we’ll realize “yeah, I have been doing that for sometime.” That is how diligence works. (With less commentary from the sidelines though.)

Enough about that lesson, I have never been athletic. Yet, last night I sent this text: “Bases loaded, 4pt. lead, 2 outs, Goose up to bat”  and I meant it. I was feeling the rush, the nervous energy, the excitement, the feeling that I belonged to something great. I learned what it meant to rally cap. I twisted my hair nervously, I shouted. This was it.

Rally capping didn’t help my team last night. But is taught me that we need to be rally capping for each other, showing our support. When you are down and out here’s my rally cap to you, random reader:  You can do it! I believe you can win, I know the pressure is a little bit heavy right now. Come win or loose I am here.  And tying for the fourth-longest winning streak in the record of the NCAA book, along with the 1972 Arizona State and 1988 Fresno State teams with 32 wins, I am here after that 33 game when the glory fades.  ( Okay that last one was less applicable to the random reader and more for a certain team.) Seriously, I get it now. Who is this girls staying up late thinking about sports? It ‘s me. I am not sure how long this will last but I will be rally capping for you reader.

The origin of Rally caps

The Origin of Rally Caps
Mets Rally Caps – Tim Teufel, Howard Johnson, Bobby Ojeda and Ron Darling

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

